Feeling Irritable?

I was thinking about my Dad today.  I guess because I have the same skin disease that he had, Pemphigus.  My skin is broken out and I felt so irritable today.  I think back on my childhood remembering how annoyed my father always seemed to be and how I thought what a mean person he was.  Well, my father was always broken out with Pemphigus.  I don’t remember a time when he didn’t have it.  I also don’t ever remember my father missing work either.  There are days when I’m broken out that I don’t want to go out, let alone go to work.

I’m so blessed that I have such an amazing husband and daughters.  I feel ugly at times and wonder why I had to be “cursed” with this disease.  My prayer is that my girls never have to endure it.

But I also think about how Christ suffered for all of us.  My Pemphigus doesn’t even come remotely close to how God suffered for me.  Today, while driving home from work I was whining to God about my disease and listening to a Christian music station and was immediately reminded of how much God loves me, that He would allow His precious Son to be tortured and endure unbelievable agony, just so that we could be with Him in eternity.  That Jesus became the sacrifice to make things right between God and man.

I stopped my pity-party and thanked God that I am alive and have a family.  I’m able to work and even when my skin hurts, it’s tolerable.  There are so many more people out there that have much worse problems than a heredity skin disease.

Take time today and thank God for all the blessings in your life.  Even thank Him for the things in your life that cause you pain, because through that pain or struggle, you may be able to help someone else that desperately needs someone to understand.

Tell Your Story Walking, Mo

This entry was posted in Tell Your Story Walking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

